Menu

How to reset your site back to a clean slate

Updated on June 26th, 2020

Note

This is only for our customers on our Legacy platform. If you’re on our Cloud platform, please see this help document.

We’ve all been there, especially when starting out with a new site, sometimes you may just want to delete a site and start everything over from a fresh WordPress installation. Fortunately, there’s a plugin for exactly this type of situation, WP Reset.

Note

Before resetting your site, it’s important to first create a backup, just in case you need to restore it later.
1

Install WP Reset

Head over to the Plugins page in your WordPress dashboard and click the Add New button to search for and install the WP Reset Plugin.

search for and install WP Reset plugin

activate WP Reset plugin

2

Configure the reset settings

Go to Tools > WP Reset and review the settings, changing things as needed. When you’re ready, type “reset” in the box provided and click the Reset Site button.

confirm reset in WP Reset

Confirm the reset one last time in the pop-up/modal that appears

final WP Reset confirmation

Once the reset is complete, you’ll be automatically logged back into the WordPress dashboard.

3

WP Reset Tools

By default, WP Reset will only delete:

  • Posts, pages, custom post types, comments, media entries, users
  • Default WordPress database tables
  • Custom database tables that have the same prefix “wp_” as default tables

If you’d like to reset theme settings, delete media files, and/or delete plugins and themes, WP Reset includes some additional tools for those. Once the reset is complete and you’re logged back into the WordPress dashboard, head over to  Tools > WP Reset > Tools

Choose which additional items you’d like to reset or remove, clicking the reset or delete button for each.

WP Reset Tools

For instance, if I wanted to clear out the uploads folder, reset theme options, and delete plugins (but leave themes installed) I would click each of the corresponding buttons for those options, confirming the reset or deletion for each when the pop-up/modal appears.

Reset themes, delete plugins, and delete plugins with WP Reset

4

Remove WP Reset

Once you’ve finished resetting your site, head back over to the Plugins page to deactivate and delete the WP Reset plugin.

Deactivate WP Reset

Delete WP Reset

That’s it, your site is reset and ready for you to begin building it once again.

Was this article helpful?

Getting Started

New to Flywheel? Start here, we've got all the information you'll need to get started and launch your first site!

View all

Account Management

Learn all about managing your Flywheel user account, Teams and integrations.

View all

Billing

Everything about billing, invoices and payments can be found here.

View all

Features

Flywheel hosting plans include a ton of great features. Learn about how to get a free SSL certificate, set up a staging site, and more!

View all

Platform Info

All the server and setting info you'll need to help you get the most out of your Flywheel hosting plan!

View all

Site Management

Tips and tricks for managing your sites on Flywheel, including going live, troubleshooting issues and migrating or cloning sites.

View all

Developer Hub

Learn how to connect, deploy, and more with SSH on Flywheel's platform.

View all

Growth Suite

Learn more about Growth Suite, our all-in-one solution for freelancers and agencies to grow more quickly and predictably.

View all

Managed Plugin Updates

Learn more about Managed Plugin Updates, and how you can keep your sites up to date, and extra safe.

View all

 

Flywheel help

Help is just a click away! Log into the Flywheel dashboard to instantly chat with an expert, open a ticket, or follow along with in-depth documentation. We happily offer support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year!

Log in

Try Flywheel today

Launch your next WordPress site in minutes.

 Free migrations  24/7/365 support  14 day demo sites