Scale your agency & find long-term success with our Agency Partners Program!

Learn more
Menu

How do I transfer billing to my client?

Updated on August 25th, 2020

If you’d like your client to own the hosting subscription while you maintain access to the site as a collaborator, you can use Flywheel’s “Transfer Billing” feature. When you transfer billing, your client will receive an email asking them to complete billing on the appropriate site/subscription. Your client will be the subscription’s “owner” once they’ve paid.

Note

Free for 14 days, demo sites on Flywheel allow for you to create a site and set up a demonstration of the site, prior to paying it!

If the site you’re transferring is a demo site, visit the site’s page in Flywheel and click the “Set Up Billing” button in the top right section of the page.

Once you click on “Set Up Billing” there will be a short form for you to fill out which will include your client’s email, the subscription plan type, and space for a short message to them.

Once you have that filled out just click “Transfer Billing” and you are good to go!

Note

If you really want to be a star and go one step further with helping your client be set up for success at Flywheel, send them our help document on accepting a billing transfer: Accepting a Billing Transfer

If you’re transferring an existing subscription, you’ll want to head to the site page and select “Manage Billing” from the gear dropdown. 

Once there you will hover over the gear on that page and select “Transfer Subscription.”

Once you click on “Transfer Subscription” there will be a short form for you to fill out which will include your client’s email, and space for a short message to them. (there is no option to edit the subscription plan type on this form since an active subscription will already have the subscription plan chosen prior to the transfer)

Once you have that filled out just click “Transfer Billing” and you are good to go!

Note

If you really want to be a star and go one step further with helping your client be set up for success at Flywheel, send them our help document on accepting a billing transfer: Accepting a Billing Transfer

Revoke Transfer

After you send off a billing request, the “Set Up Billing” button will change to say “Revoke Transfer.” If you want to resend a transfer request to remind your client or to send it to a different email address, you can use the revoke transfer button and complete billing again. Any billing request that was pending will become void, disallowing your client to use the previous email’s link.

Was this article helpful?

Getting Started

New to Flywheel? Start here, we've got all the information you'll need to get started and launch your first site!

View all

Account Management

Learn all about managing your Flywheel user account, Teams and integrations.

View all

Billing

Everything about billing, invoices and payments can be found here.

View all

Features

Flywheel hosting plans include a ton of great features. Learn about how to get a free SSL certificate, set up a staging site, and more!

View all

Platform Info

All the server and setting info you'll need to help you get the most out of your Flywheel hosting plan!

View all

Site Management

Tips and tricks for managing your sites on Flywheel, including going live, troubleshooting issues and migrating or cloning sites.

View all

Flywheel help

Help is just a click away! Log into the Flywheel dashboard to instantly chat with an expert, open a ticket, or follow along with in-depth documentation. We happily offer support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year!

Log in

Try Flywheel today

Launch your next WordPress site in minutes.

 Free migrations  24/7/365 support  14‑day demo sites