Scale your agency & find long-term success with our Agency Partners Program!

Learn more
Menu

Your role as a collaborator

Updated on May 1st, 2020

Collaborators are added to individual sites on Flywheel, one at a time. This is a great feature for granting access to freelancers or other contractors who are working on a site, and removes the need from sharing passwords with other people.

If you’ve been added as a collaborator and are new to Flywheel (welcome!), here are a few things you may want to get familiar with while getting started:

  • The Flywheel dashboard
  • Site dashboard
  • Collaborator access
  • Adding and removing collaborators


The Flywheel dashboard

This is our beautiful dashboard! You’ll see this when you first log into your Flywheel account at app.getflywheel.com. Here you can view your current sites, create new sites, and manage or update your account information.Dashboard Overview

Note

Whether you’re added as a collaborator to one site or 100, they can all be found in this main dashboard.

All sites

All the sites you own, or that you are collaborating with, will be listed in your dashboard homepage. You can change the sites display layout by selecting list or grid view to the right of All Owners.

List vs Grid Flywheel Dashboard

Each site will list the name, primary domain assigned, and assigned collaborators. 
Flywheel Dash Site with Labels
By clicking a site from your Flywheel dashboard, you will be directed to the site dashboard.



Site dashboard

Each site will have its own unique dashboard. After logging into the Flywheel platform, clicking on a site in your dashboard will bring you to this page:


Domains:

When a new site is created, a randomly generated temporary domain (ending in .flywheelsites.com) is assigned to it. You can use this address to edit or review your site until you’re ready to assign your own domain.

Privacy Mode:

Every site created will automatically be enabled with Privacy Mode to prevent the world from seeing your site until it’s ready. When Privacy Mode is on, a username and password will be required to view the site.

Privacy mode - What Password Protection Looks Like
These credentials can be found just below the Privacy Mode toggle in this dashboard.

WP Admin:

The “WP Admin” button is listed just above the “Domains” box. Click this button to navigate to the back-end WordPress editor for the site.Site Dashboard Tour WP ADMIN button

These are just a few highlights of a Flywheel site’s dashboard. Have any questions? Check out the “Getting Started” help docs to learn more or contact our support team if you need any assistance!

 



Collaborator access

As a collaborator, you’ll have full access to the site in the Flywheel dashboard and via SFTP, and you can do everything the owner can do except manage billing.

As a collaborator, you have the ability to:

View the site in the Flywheel dashboard

Collaborators see the site in their Flywheel dashboard, and can add/remove other collaborators, add domains, change settings, and anything else an owner could do (except manage billing).

Access the site via SFTP

Collaborators can log into the Flywheel SFTP server using their own username and password, and will see all of the sites they’re collaborators on.

Manage the database

As part of having access to the site in Flywheel, collaborators can manage the database via the Flywheel Database Manager. The Database Manager can be found in the ‘Advanced’ tab in the Site Dashboard. 

Note

Collaborators cannot manage the billing of the site, and cannot delete or cancel a site.

 


Adding or removing collaborators

As a collaborator, you’ll be able to add and remove other collaborators to a site. To do so, simply click the “+” button next to “Collaborators,” or the “Add collaborators” button beneath the collaborator list:Flywheel Site Dashboard Tour Add Collaborator

To invite someone to collaborate on the site, simply type in their name, Flywheel username, or email address. They’ll receive an email letting them know that they’ve been invited to collaborate on that site and a confirmation once they have accepted.Remove Existing Collaborator Flywheel Site Dashboard Tour

To remove access for a collaborator, simply click “Remove.” The user will no longer have access to view or manage the site, and won’t be able to make changes in the SFTP server.

Was this article helpful?

Getting Started

New to Flywheel? Start here, we've got all the information you'll need to get started and launch your first site!

View all

Account Management

Learn all about managing your Flywheel user account, Teams and integrations.

View all

Billing

Everything about billing, invoices and payments can be found here.

View all

Features

Flywheel hosting plans include a ton of great features. Learn about how to get a free SSL certificate, set up a staging site, and more!

View all

Platform Info

All the server and setting info you'll need to help you get the most out of your Flywheel hosting plan!

View all

Site Management

Tips and tricks for managing your sites on Flywheel, including going live, troubleshooting issues and migrating or cloning sites.

View all

Flywheel help

Help is just a click away! Log into the Flywheel dashboard to instantly chat with an expert, open a ticket, or follow along with in-depth documentation. We happily offer support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year!

Log in

Try Flywheel today

Launch your next WordPress site in minutes.

 Free migrations  24/7/365 support  14‑day demo sites